Concord University Board of Governors to Meet Wednesday, April 22

For Immediate Release: 
Apr 08 2009

CONTACT: Sharon Manzo, Assistant to the President
1-304-384-5224,, > Administration > Board of Governors

Concord University Board of Governors to Meet Wednesday, April 22

Athens, W.Va. - Concord University Board of Governors Chair, Mr. J. Franklin “Joe” Long, announces that the Board of Governors will meet on Wednesday, April 22 via teleconference at 10 a.m. The teleconference meeting will be hosted in the Concord Room (Room 201), Marsh Hall, Concord University.

An agenda will be available upon request five days prior to the meeting date.

Information about board meetings may be accessed on the University’s web site, log on to > Administration > Board of Governors.

For more information, contact Ms. Sharon Manzo, assistant to the president, 1-304-384-5224 or
CONCORD UNIVERSITY NOTES: Persons with disabilities should contact Nancy Ellison, 1-304-384-6086 or 1-800-344-6679, extension 6086 if special assistance or help is required for access to an event scheduled by the University on campus.

In general, the intent of Senate Bill 653 and 703 is to diversify and expand the economy of the state, increase the competitiveness of the state’s workforce and the availability of professional expertise by increasing the number of college degrees produced to the level of the national average and significantly improve the level of adult functional literacy.

Effective July 1, 2001, an institutional board of governors was established as required by SB 653 and 703. The board of governors powers and duties generally include: determining controlling supervisions and managing the financial, business and education policies and affairs of Concord, developing a master plan, demonstrating how the master plan will be used, developing goals and missions, and other items as directed by the legislation.

The board of governors is comprised of 12 people including: nine members appointed by the governor, a full-time member of the faculty, a member of the student body and a member of Concord’s classified employees.

Members of Concord’s governing board are: Wilma Anderson, Hinton; Lane Bailey, vice chair, Washington, D.C.; Frank Blackwell, Mullens; Hugh Campbell, faculty representative; J. Franklin “Joe” Long, board chair, Bluefield, Va.; Wayne Meisel, Princeton, N.J.; John M. Mendez, Princeton; Brace Mullet, Charleston; Amy Pitzer, classified staff representative; Akeya Carter-Bozman, student representative; R. T. “Ted” Rogers, Hinton; and Margaret Sayre, secretary, Beckley.