Concord University header logo
StudentsVeteransFaculty/StaffAlumniDirectorySearch
Academics MENU
Academics > College of Fine Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences > Department of Fine Arts



Department of Fine Arts

Welcome to Concord University's Department of Fine Arts. At Concord, we strive to create an atmosphere that allows a student's artistic expression and creation to grow. We are able to do this by giving students the freedom to work closely with their professors in the classroom and to work individually. Our faculty and staff have attended top colleges and universities and are able to give students the benefits of their experiences so they may better develop their skills. The Department of Fine Arts is separated into two disciplines: Art and Music. Our programs are set up in such a way that students will become more and more proficient in their chosen discipline the further they progress in their studies.
About the Department

Housed in one of the finest facilities of its kind, the Department of Fine Arts provides academic programs in Art and Music. The Department also participates in many interdisciplinary programs and activities. Many co-curricular programs provide activities in the Fine and Performing Arts to the academic community and the community-at-large.

Professional musicians, actors, speakers and artists are brought into the community through the Artist-Lecture Series, which is sponsored and administrated by the Department of Fine Arts. Participation in these community outreach programs provides firsthand practical experience for students in public relations, advertising and professional development.

Our Faculty


David Ball

Associate Professor of Music
Band and Brass

balld@concord.edu


Kevin Bennington

Associate Professor of Art
kbennington@concord.edu


James Biggs

Professor & Chair, Department of Fine Arts
Art Gallery Director

jbiggs@concord.edu


Chase Bowman

Instructor in Art
cbowman@concord.edu


Kelly Hudson

Associate Professor of Music
khudson@concord.edu


Marcheta Gunter

Academic Program Associate
mgunter@concord.edu
 

Margaret "Maggie" Jusiel

Adjunct Professor of Music
Woodwinds
mrjusiel@gmail.com


Timothy Mainland

Professor of Music
Theory, History, and Strings

mainlandt@concord.edu

 

Rita Montrosse

Adjunct
montrosse@concord.edu


Thomas Treadway

Adjunct Basic Computer Graphics / Web Design


Jacob Womack

Assistant Professor of Music / Collaborative Pianist Fine Arts
Piano and Accompanying

jwomack@concord.edu


James Biggs

Professor and Chair, Department of Fine Arts
Art Gallery Director
Email


Contact Us

Phone: 304-384-5275
Marcheta Gunter, Secretary
Email: mgunter@concord.edu


Programs of Studies

Undergraduate

Course Description