Concord University header logo
StudentsVeteransFaculty/StaffAlumniDirectorySearch
Academics MENU
Academics > College of Professional and Liberal Studies > Department of Humanities



Department of Humanities

The Department of Humanities at Concord University serves all students at Concord through its General Education courses, its majors and minors, and courses on special topics including film. This site offers information on the Department's courses in English, Modern/Classical Languages, History, and Philosophy & Religion. 

Interested in majoring or minoring in English, History, or History of Philosophy?  Information on the Core Requirements for Majors and Minors can be found here.

Information regarding courses offered by the Department is available in the current Academic Catalog.

The Department offers majors in English with three areas of emphasis (Creative Writing, Literature, and Professional Writing), and in History.

B.S. Education degrees with teaching concentrations in English and Social Studies are also available.

Humanities General Education Program Course Assessments
Humanities General Education Program Course Assessments
General Education Program assessment data is collected from writing assignments in the following courses:
  • English 101/101C
  • English 102
  • English 203
  • English 204
  • English 224-225
  • History 101
  • History 102
  • History 203
  • History 204
  • Philosophy 101
  • Philosophy 210
  • Philosophy 316
  • Philosophy 361
For information about Humanities General Education course assessments, please contact Dr. Michelle Gompf.
 

Our Faculty

Badang, Germain
Germain Badang
Assistant Professor of Languages
gbadang@concord.edu
Berkey, Jonathan
Jonathan Berkey
Professor of History
304-384-5200
berkeyj@concord.edu
Powell, Tina
Tina Powell
Instructor in English
304-384-6288
tpowell@concord.edu
Roth, Elizabeth
Elizabeth Roth
Associate Professor of English
304-384-5229
rothl@concord.edu
Gompf, Michelle
Michelle Gompf
Professor of English/Chair, Department of Humanities
304-384-6085
mgompf@concord.edu
Lilly, Richard Keith
Richard Keith Lilly
Instructor of History
304-384-5615
rklilly@concord.edu
Malkovich, Amberyl
Amberyl Malkovich
Professor of English
304-384-5143
amalkovich@concord.edu
Manzione, Joseph
Joseph Manzione
Professor of History
304-384-5254
manzionej@concord.edu
McKenna, Thomas
Thomas McKenna
Professor of Philosophy and History
304-384-5280
tjmckenna@concord.edu
Patricia, Anthony
Anthony Patricia
Assistant Professor of English
304-384-5207
agpatricia@concord.edu
Rieger, Gabriel
Gabriel Rieger
Professor of English
304-384-5251
grieger@concord.edu
Williams, George
George Williams
Assistant Professor of English / Veterans Advocate
304-384-5171
gwilliams@concord.edu

Dr. Michelle Gompf

Professor of English & Chair of the Department of Humanities
Email

 

Contact:

Department of Humanities               
304-384-6085
Admin 327
humanities@concord.edu

The Humanities website includes various links to research and course material that may express opinions of individual faculty and students and not the views of the department as a whole, Concord University, or the Board of Governors.
 

Programs of Studies

Undergraduate

Course Descriptions