Concord University header logo

Students Honored at Concord

Students Honored at Concord

Athens, W.Va. - The Concord College Annual Honors Banquet was held Thursday, April 27, 2000, to honor students who achieved a 3.0 grade point average (or higher), and to honor students who excelled in their field.

"This is a night of memories for all of us," commented Concord President Jerry Beasley. "I have a collage of special memories from this past year, some of which include students who answered General Colin Powell’s call to serve by volunteering with the America’s Promise organization, talented actors in our college theatre productions, and writing by a student who, in my opinion, will be one of our great journalists."

Honors graduates from the fall of 1999 were recognized, as well as candidates for spring 2000 commencement.

The following special awards were given out:

A.H. Montgomery Chemistry Prize, Pamela Meadows, Athens, W.Va.

Bonner Scholars Academic Achievement Award, Daniela Balkanska, Bulgaria

Bruce Covey Mathematics Prize, Vishal Badiani, India

Communication Arts Award, Cindy Boyce, West Union, W.Va.

Concord College Alumni Association Valedictorian Award, Daniela Balkanska, Bulgaria, and Robert Vasile, Germantown, Md.

David S. Roth Memorial Award, Andrea Nease, Buffalo, W.Va., and
Kristina Petrova, Bulgaria

DeNuzzo Award for Academic Excellence, Mandi Steele, Princeton, W.Va.

Diana DeLung Perry Scholarship, Judy Owens, Princeton, W.Va.

Ella Holroyd Music Scholarship, Tracy Puckett, Jolo, W.Va., and Robert Tibbs, War, W.Va.

Harvey A. Wells, Sr. Biology Award, Timothy Darnell, MacArthur, W.Va.

History-Political Science Student of the Year, Melanie Page, Cool Ridge, W.Va.

Honors Program Graduate Recognition:

Daniela Balkanska, Bulgaria

Joshua Doss, Athens, W.Va.

Erin Feazell, Fayetteville, W.Va.

Jason Frazer, Craigsville, W.Va.

Megan Grose, Lansing, W.Va.

Melinda Hayman, Woodbridge, Va.

Benjamin Lafferty, Bud, W.Va.

Erin Luzader, Grafton, W.Va.

Pamela Meadows, Athens, W.Va.

Adewunmi Onafuwa, Nigeria

Oladimegi Onafuwa, Nigeria

Amber Sizemore, Princeton, W.Va.

Tifanny Sparks, Jolo, W.Va.

Robert Vasile, Germantown, Md.

James B. Schrewbury, Jr. Award, Rebecca Pack, Hinton, W.Va.

Jerry L. Blatt Scholarship Award, Megan Grose, Lansing, W.Va.

Outstanding Business Student of the Year, Daniela Balkanska, Bulgaria

2000 Outstanding Education Major Award, Josh Craft, Selma, Va.

Karen Bollinger, Jumping Branch, W.Va.

Outstanding Graduate in Geography Award, Benjamin Frazier, Peterstown, W.Va.

Outstanding Health and Physical Education Award, Deidra Canterbury, Ballard, W.Va.

Outstanding Social Work Senior, Erin Luzader, Grafton, W.Va.

Students in Free Enterprise Award, Kevin Harper, Danese, W.Va.

and, Ivaylo Bozoukov, Bulgaria

The 39th Annual Honors Banquet was hosted by Cardinal Key and Blue Key Honor Societies. Erin Feazell, president of Cardinal Key emceed the event. Academic sponsors for the honor societies are Mary Edna Beckett and Cecilia Fizer. The honors banquet was first organized by Mary Edna Beckett and Dr. Joseph Marsh in 1961, and Marsh was a special guest at this year’s banquet.

For information about attending Concord College, call toll-free 1-888-384-5249 or 1-304-384-5248, or e-mail at