Concord University header logo

Greenbrier East High School Overall Winner In Twentieth Annual Concord Business Challenge

CONTACT: Sarah Dalton
Concord University Office of Advancement PO Box 1000, Athens, WV 24712


**(Teachers and counselors are listed after the school name in parentheses.)

ATHENS, W.Va. ?�� The Concord University Division of Business hosted the Twentieth Annual Concord Business Challenge (CBC) on Thursday, Oct. 24, 2013. Eighteen West Virginia and Virginia high schools participated with approximately 400 students competing for scholarships and other awards.

Dr. Susan Robinett, division chairperson, announced the winners. Overall winners are: Greenbrier East High School, first place; Shady Spring High School, second place; and Bland High School, third place. This is the second consecutive year Greenbrier East has won the first place trophy.

Joseph Schrettner from Greenbrier East High School and Ben Carlisle from Graham High School won scholarships to Concord University.

"The purpose of the CBC is to encourage students to excel in business subjects while in high school, better preparing them for the real world and for higher education challenges," Dr. Robinett said.

"Those who place in our contests leave here with another distinction that can be added to their resumes and this helps to build confidence. We also enjoy seeing the pride on the faces of our academic achievement contest winners when they see how well they have done on our exams. The schools producing the best results are awarded the title of first, second or third place winners of the CBC and this helps the schools to demonstrate their programs?�� excellence in the state," she said.

Individual winners listed by school are:BLAND ?�� Bland, Va. (Shellie Hartley): Ariel Dean, first place, keyboarding; Ryan Keen, first place, business mathematics and third place, accounting; Desiree Shelton, second place, business finance; and, Stephen Woolwine, second place, current business events; FAYETTE INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY ?�� Oak Hill, W.Va. (Stephanie Woodson): Heather Dove, first place, CBC logo and slogan; Jacob Bounds, second place, keyboarding; Sarah Richardson, second place, creative marketing; and, Brandi Owens, third place, creative marketing ;GILES ?�� Pearisburg, Va. (Craig Johnson, Tabitha Young): Amber Bradley, second place, economics; GRAHAM ?�� Bluefield, Va. (Jennifer McGinnis, Dee Shoemaker): Ben Carlisle, scholarship; Brian Lewis, first place, Microsoft Office concepts; and, Brandon Riffe, third place, management and entrepreneurship principles; GREENBRIER EAST ?�� Lewisburg, W.Va. (Kristi Haddox, Tiffany McMahan, Dalen Whitt): Joseph Schrettner, scholarship; Marisha Carpenter, first place, business finance and second place, CBC logo and slogan; Nick Helmick, first place, current business events; Karee Diem, second place, Microsoft Office concepts; Monte Overholtzer, second place, accounting; Walker Dent, third place, business mathematics; and, Joseph Sampson, third place, economics; LIBERTY ?�� Glen Daniel, W.Va. (Tracy Halsey, Ramona Hartshorn): Brian Newman, first place, creative marketing; MONROE COUNTY TECH CENTER ?�� Lindside, W.Va. (Malany McPherson): Heather Blankenship, first place, accounting; Jacob Carden, third place, CBC logo and slogan; Chloe Meadows, third place, current business events; and, Rachel Watson, third place, business law; NARROWS ?�� Narrows, Va. (Gayle Kirby): Kacey Richardson, first place, economics; Ava Palmer, third place, Microsoft Office concepts; PRINCETON ?�� Princeton, W.Va. (Colleen Nunnery, Larissa Roberts): Kayle Barnett, first place, management and entrepreneurship principles; David Rotenberry, first place, marketing principles; Ethan Ball, second place, marketing principles; and, Matthew Sink, second place, management and entrepreneurship principles; ROCKY GAP ?�� Rocky Gap, Va. (Charity Nester): Michael Brinkley, third place, business finance; SHADY SPRING ?�� Shady Spring, W.Va. (Candace Crouse): Brandon Bott, first place, business computer literacy; Haley Philips, first place, business law; Tyler Cox, second place, business law; Jessica Heimer, second place, business mathematics and third place, business computer literacy; and, Joel White, third place, marketing principles; and, TAZEWELL ?�� Tazewell, Va. (Mary Mullins): Matthew Mullins, second place, business computer literacy and third place, keyboarding.

Also participating were:

ACADEMY OF CAREERS AND TECHNOLOGY ?�� Beckley, W.Va. (Neil Byrge, Carol Meadows);BLUEFIELD ?�� Bluefield, W.Va. (Glenda Lawson);GREENBRIER WEST ?�� Charmco, W.Va. (Norma Cole, Robin McQuain); PIKEVIEW ?�� Princeton, W.Va. (Rick Poff);RICHLANDS ?�� Richlands, Va. (Willie Hunt, Ronnie Sparks); and,WOODROW WILSON ?�� Beckley (Cynthia Cassidy, Kathryn Mace, Laural Mills)

Dr. Kendra Boggess, Concord University interim president, welcomed participants to the competition and participated in the awards ceremony. Division of Business faculty and staff participating in the CBC, along with Dr. Robinett, were: Mrs. Bonnie Brown, event coordinator and academic program associate; Dr. Muhammad Islam, professor of finance; Dr. Cindi Khanlarian, associate professor of accounting; Dr. Johnnie Linn, III, assistant professor of economics; Dr. Fred Davidson, associate professor of management; Mr. Tom Shelton, instructor of accounting; Mrs. Diane Belcher, adjunct instructor, business general; and, Mr. Don Rieley, adjunct instructor, marketing.

Dr. Davidson presented "Entrepreneurial Initiative at Concord University and in West Virginia" during the teachers and counselors seminar. He gave the presentation on behalf of Dr. Mohan Pokharel, Shott Distinguished Chair of Innovation and Entrepreneurship and assistant professor of management.

Eight Concord University business students also assisted during the competition.


Concord University Photos by Lance McDaniel