Concord University header logo

Princeton Senior High School Overall Winner In 22nd Annual Concord Business Challenge

CONTACT:  Sarah Dalton

Concord University

Office of Advancement

PO Box 1000, Athens, WV 24712

(304) 384-6312,         


**(Teachers and counselors are listed after the school name in parentheses.)
ATHENS, W.Va. – The Concord University Division of Business hosted the 22nd Annual Concord Business Challenge (CBC) on Thursday, Oct. 22, 2015. Thirteen West Virginia and Virginia high schools participated with 311 students competing for scholarships and other awards.Dr. Susan Robinett, division chairperson, announced the winners. Overall winners are First Place, Princeton Senior High School; Second Place, Tie, Richlands High School and Giles County High School; and Third Place, Graham High School.Christian Kegley from Monroe County Technical Center and Robbie Lambert from Princeton Senior High School won $4,000 scholarships to Concord University.Winners of $1,000 Concord scholarships are: Joshua Adkins, Graham; Noah Dye, Greenbrier East; Cole Hayes, Graham; Lauren McGlothlin, Richlands; Joseph Nielson, Giles; Hannah Stansfield, Richlands; Chanson Wallace, Woodrow Wilson; Jacob Webster, Graham; Jared Whitt, Greenbrier East; and Sami Zein, Princeton.“The purpose of the CBC is to encourage students to excel in business subjects while in high school, better preparing them for the real world and for higher education challenges,” Dr. Robinett said.“Those who place in our contests leave here with another distinction that can be added to their resumes and this helps to build confidence. We also enjoy seeing the pride on the faces of our academic achievement contest winners when they see how well they have done on our exams. The schools producing the best results are awarded the title of first, second or third place winners of the CBC and this helps the schools to demonstrate their programs’ excellence in the state,” she said.Individual winners listed by school are:
ACADEMY OF CAREERS AND TECHNOLOGY – Beckley, W.Va. (Neil Byrge, Heidi Cole, Carol Meadows): Tyler Truman, third place, management and entrepreneurship principles; 
FAYETTE INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY – Oak Hill, W.Va. (Cindy Harford, Stephanie Woodson): Kiley Hayslett, first place, creative marketing, and second place, CBC logo and slogan; 
GILES – Pearisburg, Va. (Lindsay Moody, Tabitha Young): Zachary Humphreys, first place, CBC logo and slogan; Kaitlin Whitehead, first place, management and entrepreneurship principles; Jessica Bale, second place, business law;  Sydney Hawks, second place, management and entrepreneurship principles;  Joseph Nielson, second place, business finance; 
GRAHAM – Bluefield, Va. (Jennifer McGinnis, Amanda Whittaker): Christopher Mounzer, first place, economics; Joshua Adkins, second place, Microsoft Office concepts, third place, keyboarding and third place, business computer literacy; Logan Hollyfield, second place, keyboarding; Alexis Kiser, third place, economics;
GREENBRIER EAST – Lewisburg, W.Va. (Kristi Caraway, Courtney Jesser, Tiffany McMahan, Dalen Whitt): Caleb Griffith, first place, business finance; Jerry Mann, first place, keyboarding; William Rodgers, third place, business finance; 
LIBERTY – Glen Daniel, W.Va. (Perry Daniel, Tracy Halsey, Ramona Hartshorn): Hailey Crawford, third place, creative marketing; 
MONROE COUNTY TECHNICAL CENTER – Lindside, W.Va. (Donna Booth, Malony McPherson, Marshall Neel): Jordan Amos, second place, creative marketing; Christian Kegley, second place, business computer literacy; Ben Evans, third place, current business events; Kendale Meadows, third place, business law;
PRINCETON SENIOR – Princeton, W.Va. (Colleen Nunnery): Chase Broyles, first place, Microsoft Office concepts; Kayla Cox, first place, accounting; Seth Druggish, first place, marketing principles; Emily Hendricks, second place, accounting; Robbie Lambert, second place, current business events; Tanner Veneri, second place, business mathematics; Sami Zein, second place, economics; Taylor Lewis, third place, accounting; Myah Sheets, third place, business mathematics;  
RICHLANDS – Richlands, Va. (Willie Hunt, Ronnie Sparks): Lauren McGlothlin, first place, business law; Ransom Phillips, first place, business computer literacy; Kyle Stiltner, first place, business mathematics; Robert Lloyd, second place, marketing principles; Emily Goodman, third place, Microsoft Office concepts; 
WOODROW WILSON – Beckley, W.Va. (Cindy Cassidy, Kathy Mace, Laura Mills): Chanson Wallace, first place, current business events; Erin Abner, third place, CBC logo and slogan; Isaac Young, third place, marketing principles; 
Also participating were:
GREENBRIER WEST – Charmco, W.Va. (Robin McQuain):
NARROWS – Narrows, Va. (Gayle Kirby): 
SHADY SPRING – Shady Spring, W.Va. (Candace Crouse, Ginger Lovell):Dr. Kendra Boggess, Concord University president, welcomed participants to the competition. Division of Business faculty and staff participating in the CBC, along with Dr. Robinett, were: Mrs. Bonnie Brown, event coordinator and academic program associate; Dr. Charlotte Davis, assistant professor of management; Dr. Muhammad Islam, professor of finance; Dr. Cindi Khanlarian, associate professor of accounting; Dr. Johnnie Linn, III, assistant professor of economics; Mr. Tom Shelton, instructor of accounting; and Dr. Jack Yeager, associate professor of finance.Concord staff presentations to the visiting teachers included Ms. Andrea Tabor, associate director of admissions, and Mr. Steve Meadows, director of networking and support services, “On Line Classes…Easier Than You Think.”
Twenty eight Concord University business student volunteers also assisted during the competition.Six photos attached below

First Place, Princeton Senior High School


Second Place, Tie, Giles County High School


Second Place, Tie, Richlands High School

Third Place, Graham High School


Winners of $4000 scholarships to Concord University are, left,

Robbie Lambert from Princeton Senior High School and

Christian Kegley from Monroe County Technical Center.



Winners of $1000 scholarships to Concord University are (left to right): Joshua Adkins, Graham; 

Jacob Webster, Graham; Cole Hayes, Graham; Joseph Nielson, Giles; Noah Dye, Greenbrier East; 

Jared Whitt, Greenbrier East; Sami Zein, Princeton; Chanson Wallace, Woodrow Wilson; 

Lauren McGlothlin, Richlands; and Hannah Stansfield, Richlands.



Persons with disabilities should contact Nancy Ellison, 1-304-384-6086 or 1-800-344-6679 extension 6086

if special assistance is required for access to an event scheduled by the University on campus.