Concord University header logo

Concord Recognizes Loyal Employees

Concord Recognizes Loyal Employees

Athens, W.Va. - Concord College’s administrative and supervisory staff recognizes those who are loyal to the College by presenting lapel pins denoting years-of-service. Service awards were presented on November 12, 2001 in the College Center State Room. Forty-two employees received service pins for their dedication to the College. The awards were presented in increments of five or more years. The following employees were recognized:

Five Years: Barbara Awbrey, Christy Barilla, John Ferguson, Marjie Flanigan, Diane Lambert, Tara Taylor, and Pam McPeak,

Ten Years: Cecilia Fizer, David Hill, James Huffman, James Johnston, William O’ Brien, Sharon Ofsa, Barbara Rush, John Spencer, and Jan Westerik.

Fifteen Years: Robert Brown, Lawrence Griffith, Danny Honaker, Muhammad Islam, Peggy Lamb, Carl Rose, Elizabeth Roth, and Billy Skeen.

Twenty Years: James Bowles, Robert Curry, Karen Hays, William Johnson, Gary Keaton, Sue Reedy, and James Richardson.

Twenty-Five Years: Shelia Chipley, Stuart Hitt, Ellen Pennington, Tina Pennington, Roger Sheppard, Perry Seal, and Sonja White.

Thirty Years: Daniel Krider, Larry Lilly, and Robert Whittinghill.

Thirty-Five Years: Wilber Jones.

Concord President, Jerry Beasley, noted that these employees demonstrate a very special dedication to the College. “And Wilber Jones, who has been at Concord for 35 years, continues to be an inspiration to faculty, staff, and students. We are fortunate to have such an excellent faculty member. Maybe his tenure will exceed that of Dorothy Bolton who worked at Concord for 42 years!”


Photo: Concord President Jerry Beasley presents a service award to Wilber Jones for 35 years of service to the College.

Concord College Notes: Jessica Taylor wrote this press release. Her hometown is Beckley, W.Va. She is majoring in English with a minor in journalism. Her anticipated graduation date is May 2003.