Concord University header logo

Concord Honors Employees

Concord Honors Employees

Athens, W.Va. - Concord College’s administrative and supervisory staff recognizes those who are loyal to the College by presenting lapel pins denoting years-of-service. Service awards were presented on Wednesday, December 4, 2002, in the College Center State Room.

Awards were given in the following categories: Five Years, Cherie Coiner, Shirley Hylton, Lisa Karnes, Doug Moore, Tim Wolfe; Ten Years, Dr. Charles Brichford, Bonnie Brown, Dr. Delilah Conley, Dr. William Crandall, Lisa Graham, Dr. Diane Grych, Michael Shumate, Gina Sturgill, Dr. George Towers, Donna White; Fifteen Years, Roy Gum, Bonnie Matherly, Libby Webb; Twenty Years, Tommy Bradley, Dr. April Puzzuoli; Twenty-five Years, Sonja White, Anne Whittaker; Thirty Years, Dr. Gus Cyphers, Patricia Harris, and Mike Wimmer.

“It’s hard enough to have been here for 30 or 35 years,” chuckled President Jerry Beasley, “so I’m not going to ask you to sit here and suffer through a speech from the president! I do want to thank you for the longetivity at a West Virginia institution that results in a wisdom that helps us deal with today’s problems with confidence, problems than can include budget cuts, shortfalls and meddlesome bureaucrats. We can deal with our problems with a good spirit. Thank each of you for the things you have done for the students.

“What amazes me is seeing someone like Mike (Wimmer) and Patty (Harris) who have been here 35 years. I would think they would look older,” Beasley continued, “but apparently we have the fountain of youth on Concord’s campus! We appreciate you leading the way for the rest of us.”

Vice President for Student and Staff Affairs Debbie Curry and Human Resources Representative Mitzi Cline from the College’s Office of Human Resourses organized the ceremony.



Five Years: Shirley Hylton, Doug Moore

Twenty Years: April Puzzuoli, Tommy Bradley

Fifteen Years: Libby Webb, Bonnie Matherly

Ten Years: Donna White, George Towers, Diane Grych, Bonnie Brown

Twenty-five Years: Anne Whittaker

Thirty Years: Patricia Harris, Mike Wimmer