Concord University header logo

Seventeenth Annual Concord Business Challenge Announces Winners

CONTACT: Sarah Dalton
Concord University
Office of Advancement
PO Box 1000, Athens, WV 24712
(304) 384-6312 -

Seventeenth Annual Concord Business Challenge Announces Winners

(EDITOR: All high schools are located in West Virginia unless otherwise noted. Teachers or counselors are listed after the school name in parentheses.)

ATHENS – The Concord University Division of Business hosted the Seventeenth Annual Concord Business Challenge (CBC) on Thursday, Oct. 28, 2010. Ten schools participated with more than 200 students competing for scholarships and other awards.

Dr. Susan Robinett, professor of business and division chairperson, is announcing the winners. Overall winners are: Greenbrier East, first place; Shady Spring, second place; and Greenbrier West, third place.

Jennifer Pruett from Princeton Senior High and Doug Richmond from Greenbrier East won scholarships to Concord University.

“The purpose of the CBC is to encourage students to excel in business subjects while in high school, better preparing them for the real world and for higher education challenges,” Robinett said.

“Those who place in our contests leave here with another distinction that can be added to their resumes and this helps build confidence. We also enjoy seeing the pride on the faces of our academic achievement contest winners when they see how well they have done on our exams. The schools producing the best results are awarded the title of first, second or third place winners of the CBC and this helps the schools to demonstrate their programs’ excellence in the state,” she said.
Individual winners listed by school are:

ACADEMY OF CAREERS AND TECHNOLOGY-Beckley-(Neil Byrge, Melinda Spencer and Carol Meadows): Shakirah Cox, second place, creative marketing; Lindsey Gravely, third place, creative marketing; Danny Ellis, first place, CBC logo and slogan; Bobbie Lewis, second place, CBC logo and slogan; Carla Rosas, first place, business law; and, Rachel Hamilton, third place, economics.

FAYETTE INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY-(Kathy Perkins): Chandra Church, second place, keyboarding; and, Amanda Pemberton, third place, current business events.

GILES, (Va.)-(Tabitha Young, Craig Johnson): Phillip Parr, third place, business law; and, Lyndsey Jackson, second place, business finance.

GRAHAM, (Va.)-(Michelle Brown, BG Trump):Usman Igbal, second place, business mathematics.

GREENBRIER EAST-(Jerry Bradley, Tiffany McMahan, Chris Hall and Dalen Whitt):
Mara Davis, third place, CBC logo and slogan; Alison Wickline, second place, current business events; Emily Vandevender, first place, management principles; Bren Pittsenbarger, first place, business computer literacy and second place, Microsoft office concepts; Doug Richmond, first place, business finance; Katie Fullen, third place, business finance; Branden Bain, second place, economics; and, Jake Harper, third place, marketing principles.

GREENBRIER WEST-(Norma Cole, Robin McQuain): Adam Schoolkraft, second place, management principles; Janeek Wiggan, first place, accounting; Kristen Shafer, second place, accounting; Michael Johnson, first place, economics; and, Nathan Anderson, second place, marketing principles.

PRINCETON SENIOR-(Colleen Nunnery): Cory Fulknier, third place, keyboarding; Ty Lang, second place, business law; Adam Mills, first place, business mathematics; and, Carlos Gonzalez, first place, marketing principles.

SHADY SPRING-(Candace Crouse, Lindsey Lucas): Dustin Walker, first place, creative marketing; Morgan Huang, first place, keyboarding, second place, business computer literacy, and, third place, Microsoft office concepts; Andrew Farley, third place, business mathematics;
Chance Raso, third place, management principles; Ashley Pierce, first place, Microsoft office concepts; Austin Johnson, third place, accounting; and, Scott Rhudy, third place, business computer literacy.

WOODROW WILSON-(Cindy Cassidy, Kathy Mace): Rachel Hamilton, first place, current business events.

NARROWS HIGH SCHOOL, (Va.)-(Gayle Kirby) also participated.

Division of Business faculty and staff participating in the CBC along with Robinett were: Mrs. Bonnie Brown, event coordinator and academic program associate; Dr. Kendra Boggess, professor of business and interim associate dean; Dr. Fred Davidson, associate professor of management; Dr. Bill Deck, associate professor of marketing; Mr. John Fazio, instructor of business; Dr. Muhammad Islam, professor of finance; Dr. He-Boong Kwon, associate professor of management; Dr. Johnnie Linn, III, assistant professor of economics; Dr. Nick Miceli, Associate Professor of Management; Mr. Tom Shelton, temporary assistant professor of accounting; Dr. Betsy Tretola, associate professor of marketing; and Dr. Andrey Zagorchev, assistant professor of finance.

Mr. Steve Meadows, Center for Academic Technologies, was the guest speaker for the teacher and counselors seminar. 

Several business students provided assistance to the Challenge by serving as assistant test proctors. They are: Ashley Ferrell, Lesley Ashford, Charles Fowler, Sarah Alley, Jonathan Hunt, Rachel Weikle, Ricky Kincaid, Ryan Prince, Joe Nelson, Joseph Tolnay, Le Thao, Linh Nguyen, Jennifer Clayton, Rebecca Key, Billie Bower, Erica Patton and Warda Ibrahim.