Concord University header logo
StudentsVeteransFaculty/StaffAlumniDirectorySearch
Academics MENU
Academics > College of Fine Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences > Department of Humanities



Department of Humanities

The Department of Humanities at Concord University serves all students at Concord through its General Education courses, its majors and minors, and courses on special topics including film. This site offers information on the Department's courses in English, Modern/Classical Languages, History, and Philosophy & Religion. 

Interested in majoring or minoring in English, History, or History of Philosophy?  Information on the Core Requirements for Majors and Minors can be found here.

Information regarding courses offered by the Department is available in the current Academic Catalog.

The Department offers majors in English with three areas of emphasis (Creative Writing, Literature, and Professional Writing), and in History.

B.S. Education degrees with teaching concentrations in English and Social Studies are also available.

Our Faculty


Michelle Gompf

Professor of English/Chair, Department of Humanities
mgompf@concord.edu


Germain Badang

Assistant Professor of Languages
gbadang@concord.edu


Jonathan Berkey

Professor of History
berkeyj@concord.edu


Ashley Crane

Adjunct - Modern Language
acrane@concord.edu


Richard Keith Lilly

Instructor of History
rklilly@concord.edu


Amberyl Malkovich

Associate Professor of English
amalkovich@concord.edu



Joseph Manzione

Professor of History
manzionej@concord.edu




Thomas McKenna

Professor of Philosophy and History/Interim Dean of the College of Fine Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences
tjmckenna@gmail.com


 

William Ofsa

Professor of English
ofsaw@concord.edu


Delilah O'Haynes

Professor of English
dohaynes@concord.edu


Anthony Patricia

Assistant Professor of English
agpatricia@concord.edu




Tina Powell

Instructor of English
tpowell@concord.edu




Gabriel Rieger

Associate Professor of English
grieger@concord.edu




Elizabeth Roth

Assistant Professor of English
rothl@concord.edu




Blevin Shelnutt

Assistant Professor of English
bshelnutt@concord.edu




George Williams

Assistant Professor - Humanities
gwilliams@concord.edu

Humanities General Education Program Course Assessments
Humanities General Education Program Course Assessments
General Education Program assessment data is collected from writing assignments in the following courses:
  • English 101/101C
  • English 102
  • English 203
  • English 204
  • English 224-225
  • History 101
  • History 102
  • History 203
  • History 204
  • Philosophy 101
  • Philosophy 210
  • Philosophy 316
  • Philosophy 361
For information about Humanities General Education course assessments, please contact Dr. Michelle Gompf.
 

Dr. Michelle Gompf

Professor of English & Chair of the Department of Humanities
Email

 

Contact:

Department of Humanities               
304-384-5352
Marsh Hall 305
humanities@concord.edu

The Humanities website includes various links to research and course material that may express opinions of individual faculty and students and not the views of the department as a whole, Concord University, or the Board of Governors.
 

Programs of Studies

Undergraduate

Course Descriptions