There Are No Failures, Only Learning Experiences

For Immediate Release: 
Oct 29 2000

There Are No Failures, Only Learning Experiences

Athens, W.Va. - Concord College President Jerry L. Beasley welcomed over 300 guests to the Fund for Concord College Dinner, Thursday, October 26, 2000, at Embassy Suites in Charleston, W.Va. Beasley told the audience about student achievements including 10 Concord College graduates who entered medical school last year and the volunteer efforts of the College’s Bonner Scholars, who completed 25,000 hours of community service.

Michael D. Parker, incoming president and CEO of The Dow Chemical Company gave the keynote address. He shared stories about himself while living in England and as a student at The University of Manchester (England) where he received a bachelor’s degree in chemical engineering. He received his MBA from the Manchester Business School. Parker’s wife, Noreen attended the dinner, also. Parker told the Concord supporters that he “marvels at the volunteerism in America” and that he was pleased to be a part of raising funds for scholarships. As a parent, he understood the importance of higher education as both of his children are currently enrolled at universities in the United States. “There are no failures, only learning experiences,” stated Parker. “We, at Dow, follow this philosophy as we focus on improving our processes. And, the true essence of Dow comes from our people.”

Concord College student Kristen Dye brought tears to the eyes of audience members as she told of her parents’ love for her, her love for West Virginia and her dream of becoming a physician and serving West Virginia residents. “I want to help West Virginia achieve great things by helping one person at a time,” stated Dye.

Forrest Roles, Chair of the Concord College Foundation, Inc., asked the supporters to consider endowing a scholarship. “Concord very efficiently prepares students for a lifetime of learning,” stated Roles. They hire teachers to ‘educate or perish,’ not ‘publish or perish.’”

The Charleston dinner planning committee included: Committee Chair William H. McKee, Jr., and David A. Barnette, John G. Byrd, Victor Grigoraci, Olivia P. Jefferds, Lou Ann Johnson, John M. Jones, Tanya Mendez Kesner, Melinda Ashworth-Kiss, William R. Laird, IV, John M. Long, Douglas Maddy, J. Douglas Machesney, Otis Mann, Sally Mann, Forrest Roles, Daniel S. Palusky, Andrew J. Paterno, Sue Sergi, Sandra D. Thomas, Becky Vealey and Loretta A. Young.

For more information on establishing a scholarship, call 1-304-384-5317 or e-mail


Photo: James M. Brown, Jerry L. Beasley, Darlene Brown, Michael D. Parker, William H. McKee, Jr.