Concord University Board of Governors to Meet Tuesday, April 3

For Immediate Release: 
Mar 26 2007

CONTACT: Sharon Manzo, Assistant to the President

Concord University Board of Governors to Meet Tuesday, April 3

Athens, W.Va. - Concord University President Jerry Beasley announces that the Board of Governors will meet on Tuesday, April 3 on campus.

The meeting schedule is as follows: 9 a.m., Academic Affairs Committee, Dorothy Bolton Room; Student Affairs Committee, The Concord Room; 10:15 a.m., Finance and Facilities Committee, The Concord Room; External Affairs Committee, The Dorothy Bolton Room; 11:30 a.m., Faculty Staff Council and Board of Governors, The Concord Room; 1 p.m., a tour of the Nick Joe Rahall, II Technology Center will be conducted; 1:30 p.m., Board of Governors, The Concord Room.

An agenda will be available upon request.

Minutes and information about board meetings may be accessed on the University’s web site, log on to, click on “Administration” then “Board of Governors.”

For more information, contact Ms. Sharon Manzo, assistant to the president, 1-304-384-5224 or


CONCORD UNIVERSITY NOTES: Persons with disabilities should contact Nancy Ellison, 1-304-384-6086 or 1-800-344-6679, extension 6086 if special assistance or help is required for access to an event scheduled by the University on campus.

In general, the intent of Senate Bill 653 and 703 is to diversify and expand the economy of the state, increase the competitiveness of the state’s workforce and the availability of professional expertise by increasing the number of college degrees produced to the level of the national average and significantly improve the level of adult functional literacy.

Effective July 1, 2001, an institutional board of governors was established as required by SB 653 and 703. The board of governors powers and duties generally include: determining controlling supervisions and managing the financial, business and education policies and affairs of Concord, developing a master plan, demonstrating how the master plan will be used, developing goals and missions, and other items as directed by the legislation.

The board of governors is comprised of 12 people including: nine members appointed by the governor, a full-time member of the faculty, a member of the student body and a member of Concord’s classified employees.

Members of Concord’s governing board are: Deborah Akers, Princeton, W.Va.; James M. Brown, Beckley, W.Va.; Eugene V. Fife, Charlottesville, Va.; J. Franklin Long, Bluefield, W.Va.; Wayne Meisel, Princeton, N.J.; R. T. “Ted” Rogers, board chair, Hinton, W.Va.; Margaret Sayre, Beckley, W.Va.; student representative, Jesse Call; faculty representative, Darrin Martin; and classified staff representative, Amy Pitzer. There are currently two vacancies on the board.