Concord University Celebrates 140th Anniversary

For Immediate Release: 
Feb 27 2012

CONTACT: Sarah Dalton
Concord University
Office of Advancement
PO Box 1000, Athens, WV 24712
(304) 384-6312,


ATHENS, W.Va. – Concord University marked its 140th anniversary with a Convocation of Scholars and Founders’ Day Celebration on Tuesday, Feb. 28, 2012. The event began at 1 p.m. in the Main Theatre of the Alexander Fine Arts Center.

Concord received its charter from the West Virginia Legislature on Feb. 28, 1872.

“Founders’ Day is a time where we assemble, reflect, honor and salute our great heritage,” Concord University President Gregory F. Aloia said. “We look forward to a great future.”

Princeton, W.Va. attorney Robert E. Holroyd presented the keynote address. “It’s an honor for me to be here today and give you a viewpoint of my family as it relates to the formation of this institution.”

The ties of Holroyd’s family to the Athens and Concord communities date back to the 1850s when William and Sarah Holroyd become residents in the area. The Holroyds were among the families who assisted in the establishment of Concord.

“You have every reason to be very proud of this institution as am I. This place has an unbelievable reputation in this state,” Holroyd said. “It thrills me to be able…to claim I am a descendent of one of the people who started this institution.”

Following the keynote address, Holroyd and Aloia unveiled a marker that will be placed at the former site of Holroyd Hall on Vermillion and Cooper streets in Athens.

Holroyd Hall was built during the administration of Dr. C.C. Rossey (1918-1924) as a men’s residence hall. It served as a dormitory until 1939 and was later used for faculty apartments, classrooms and a health center.

A proclamation denoting 2012 as “The Year of the Alumni” at Concord University was issued during the convocation by Concord University Director of Alumni Affairs Sarah Lively Turner. The proclamation noted “the legacy and spirit of alumni and their vital role in the institution’s success.”

Recipients of academic and service awards were also recognized during the ceremony. Members of the campus community including faculty, staff and students were honored for teaching, scholarship, creativity and service.

The Teaching Award was presented to Dr. Bill Deck in the Division of Business. The Scholarship/Creativity Award went to the team of Dr. Gabriel Rieger and Dr. Amberyl Malkovich in the Division of Languages and Literature and also to Dr. Andrey Zagorchev in the Division of Business. Mrs. Andrea Campbell in the Division of Education and Human Performance received the Faculty Service Award.

Mrs. Anne Whittaker, executive secretary to the vice president and academic dean, received the Presidential Service Award. Mrs. Sharon Manzo, administrative assistant to the president, was honored with the Non-Classified Staff Service Award. Concord University student Ms. Lindsey Scott received the Student Service Award.

A reception followed the program in the Fine Arts Lobby.


Mr. Robert Holroyd, left, and President Gregory Aloia unveil a marker honoring Holroyd Hall
during Concord University’s Convocation of Scholars and Founders’ Day Celebration. The marker
will be placed at the corner of Vermillion and Cooper streets in Athens, former site of the Concord landmark.