Greenbrier East High School Overall Winner In Nineteenth Annual Concord Business Challenge

For Immediate Release: 
Nov 14 2012

CONTACT: Sarah Dalton
Concord University
Office of Advancement
PO Box 1000, Athens, WV 24712
(304) 384-6312,



(All high schools are located in West Virginia unless otherwise noted. Teachers and counselors are listed after the school name in parentheses.)

ATHENS, W.Va. – The Concord University Division of Business hosted the Nineteenth Annual Concord Business Challenge (CBC) on Thursday, Oct. 25, 2012. Eighteen schools participated with more than 300 students competing for scholarships and other awards.

Dr. Susan Robinett, professor of business and division chairperson, is announcing the winners. Overall winners are: Greenbrier East High School, first place; Fayette Institute of Technology, second place; and Giles High School and Richlands High School, tied for third place.

Kayla Trent from James Monroe High School and Ben Carlisle from Graham High School won scholarships to Concord University.

“The purpose of the CBC is to encourage students to excel in business subjects while in high school, better preparing them for the real world and for higher education challenges,” Dr. Robinett said.

“Those who place in our contests leave here with another distinction that can be added to their resumes and this helps to build confidence. We also enjoy seeing the pride on the faces of our academic achievement contest winners when they see how well they have done on our exams. The schools producing the best results are awarded the title of first, second or third place winners of the CBC and this helps the schools to demonstrate their programs’ excellence in the state,” she said.

Individual winners listed by school are:

BLAND – Bland, Va. (Shellie Hartley, Becky Umbarger): Deserie Isaacs, second place, current business events.

FAYETTE INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY – Oak Hill, W.Va. (Kathy Perkins): Misty Chennault, first place, creative marketing; Kayla Hepler, first place, CBC logo and slogan and third place, creative marketing; Sarah Bradley, first place, keyboarding; and Tyler Painter, second place, economics.

GILES – Pearisburg, Va. (Craig Johnson, Tabitha Young): Zachary Burch, third place, CBC logo and slogan; Niki Reynolds, second place, business law and third place, keyboarding; Jennifer Bradley, second place, accounting; Thomas Brown, first place, business computer literacy; and Cody Moler, first place, Microsoft Office principles.

GRAHAM – Bluefield, Va. (Amanda Estep, Jennifer McGinnis): Ben Carlisle, scholarship; Forrest Yates, first place, business finance and first place, business law; and Morgan Marek, third place, Microsoft Office principles.

GREENBRIER EAST – Lewisburg (Tiffany McMahan, Dalen Whitt, Kristi Haddox, Hannah Vass): Christopher Arnold, second place, creative marketing; Jessica Martin, second place, CBC logo and slogan; Alyeia Osborne, first place, accounting; Owen Browning, second place, marketing; Tom Von Dohlen, third place, economics; Johnny Morgan, second place, business finance; and Sidney Sheets, third place, business law.

GREENBRIER WEST – Charmco (Norma Cole, Robin McQuain): Steele Fitzwater, first place, marketing; and Josie Farren, second place, Microsoft Office principles.

JAMES MONROE – Lindside: Kayla Trent, scholarship.

NARROWS – Narrows, Va. (Gayle Kirby): Ronald Salerno, third place, business computer literacy.

PRINCETON – Princeton (Colleen Nunnery): Taylor Paitsel, second place, keyboarding; Corey McPherson, first place, business mathematics; Grayson O’Saile, second place, business mathematics; and Cody Goff, third place, business mathematics. 

RICHLANDS – Richlands, Va. (Willie Hunt, Ronnie Sparks): Mark Jabouran, second place, business computer literacy; Jose Piriz, second place, management principles and third place, marketing; Kevin Kabaria, first place, economics; Andrew Meadows, third place, business finance; and Jordan Compton, first place, management principles. 

SHADY SPRING – Shady Spring (Candace Crouse): Haley Phillips, third place, accounting; Dustin Hall, first place, current business events; and Robert Ross, third place, current business events.

WOODROW WILSON – Beckley (Kathryn Mace, Laura Mills, Cindy Cassidy): Michael Nasye, third place, management principles.

Also participating were:

ACADEMY OF CAREERS AND TECHNOLOGY– Beckley (Neil Byrge, Brenda Jenkins, Carol Meadows)

BLUEFIELD – Bluefield (Glenda Lawson)

FAYETTEVILLE – Fayetteville (Stephanie Woodson)

LIBERTY – Glen Daniel (Ramona Hartshorn)

MONROE COUNTY TECHNICAL CENTER – Lindside (Malory McPherson, Marshall Neal)

ROCKY GAP – Rocky Gap, Va. (Charity Nester, Joe Makolandra)

Division of Business faculty and staff participating in the CBC along with Dr. Robinett were: Mrs. Bonnie Brown, event coordinator and academic program associate; Dr. Kendra Boggess, professor of business and interim vice president and academic dean; Dr. Muhammad Islam, professor of finance; Dr. Cindi Khanlarian, associate professor of accounting; Dr. Johnnie Linn, III, assistant professor of economics; Dr. Mohan Pokharel, assistant professor of management; Mr. Tom Shelton, instructor of accounting; Dr. Betsy Tretola, associate professor of marketing; and Dr. Andrey Zagorchev, assistant professor of finance. 

Concord’s Technology Services staff presented “What’s New in Education Technology” at the teacher and counselors seminar. 

Concord University business students volunteered to participate in the Challenge by serving as assistant test proctors. Those students were: Camille Adkins, Amanda Bowden, Allena King, Karey Tedder, Allen Dunford, Craig Gilpin, Ashley Lecco, Robert Peters, Brad Dugan, Quyen Tran, Mai Ly, Erin Ellison, Quinten Whaler, Hanh Tran, Tyler Compton, Annie Kate Fancher, Debbie Parker, Wanda Gibson, Danielle Knight and Chelsea Riffe.


Five photos attached below
Concord University photos by Lance McDaniel


1ST Place Overall


3RD Place Overall



3RD Place Overall



Kayla Trent from James Monroe High School is recognized as a scholarship winner by Mr. Tom Shelton, Concord University instructor of accounting



Ben Carlisle of Graham High School is recognized as a scholarship winner by Mr. Tom Shelton, Concord University instructor of accounting