Concord University Team Places First In SERMACS College Chemistry Bowl

For Immediate Release: 
Oct 29 2014

CONTACT:  Sarah Dalton

Concord University

Office of Advancement

PO Box 1000, Athens, WV 24712

(304) 384-6312,         





ATHENS, W.Va. – A team of four Concord University students won first place at the Southeastern Regional Meeting of the American Chemical Society (SERMACS) College Chemistry Bowl held earlier this month in Nashville, Tenn.

Lucas Bolyard, Katherine Engo, Stacy Farley and Jesse Kidd took top honors following several rounds of a quiz bowl competition fashioned after the classic General Electric Television “College Bowl.”

The four students are members of Concord University’s American Chemical Society and were joined at the 66th SERMACS by fellow CU student members Rachel Bishop and Katherine Collins. During the meeting, the students attended seminars and poster sessions focused on various areas of chemical research, and visited with job recruiters and graduate school representatives. 

Stacy Farley presented a poster titled “Immunoglobulin G biosensor based on surface-enhanced Raman scattering.”  The poster presented the results from her research conducted during the summer at West Virginia University as part of the NanoSAFE REU program. 

Jesse Kidd presented a poster titled “Mechanical activation of covalently linked spiropyran in PDMS networks.”  His poster also presented results from his summer research experience.  Jesse participated in CCMR REU at Cornell University. 

Stacy and Jesse are currently participants in the McNair Scholars Program, which prepares undergraduates for the graduate school application process and the graduate school experience.

Accompanying the students were Concord faculty members Dr. Dana Alloway, associate professor of chemistry; Dr. Kimberly Chambers, assistant professor of chemistry and biochemistry; and Dr. Darrell Crick, associate professor of chemistry. The conference was held Oct. 16 - Oct. 19.


Members of Concord University’s championship College Chemistry Bowl team shown left to right are:

 Stacy Farley, Jesse Kidd, Katherine Engo and Lucas Bolyard.