Concord University Marks 145th Anniversary With Founders’ Day Ceremony

For Immediate Release: 
Mar 06 2017

CONTACT:  Sarah Dalton

Concord University

Office of Advancement

PO Box 1000, Athens, WV 24712

(304) 384-6312,


After 4 p.m.






ATHENS, W.Va. Concord University held a Founders’ Day Ceremony on Wednesday, March 1, 2017 in honor of its 145th anniversary. On Feb. 28, 1872 the school received its charter from the West Virginia Legislature.

The afternoon ceremony took place in the Main Auditorium of the Alexander Fine Arts Center.

“Founders’ Day is a time to celebrate the rich history and promising future of Concord,” said Dr. Kendra Boggess, Concord University President in her opening remarks.

Keynote speaker Mr. David A. Barnette explained how the special contributions of two professors helped shape his academic experience at Concord. Barnette, Counsel and Member of Jackson Kelly PLLC in Charleston, W.Va. and Vice Chair of the Concord University Board of Governors, graduated from Concord in 1974 with a Bachelor of Arts degree in political science. He earned a master’s degree in political science from Marshall University in 1975 and joined Jackson Kelly in 1979 upon receiving his Juris Doctor degree from The University of Dayton.

Barnette said Dr. Jack McMichael, a philosophy professor, taught his students to use critical thinking. His gift from political science professor Dr. Edwin Renalds Van Deusen was training in looking at situations from different perspectives, he said.

“You have a tremendous opportunity to teach and educate students,” Barnette said to the faculty and other members of the audience. “I want to thank Concord University for the opportunities it gave me.”

The Founders’ Day celebration also offered a time to honor faculty, staff and students. Presidential Excellence Awards were presented to individuals who have demonstrated dedication and service to Concord University and the surrounding community.

Award recipients include: Faculty Presidential Excellence Award, Mr. Lonnie Bowe, Dr. Bill Ofsa and Dr. Joan Pendergast; Classified Staff Presidential Excellence Award, Mr. Eric Jewell, Ms. Miranda Martin, Mr. Doug Moore and Ms. Andrea Webb; Non-Classified Staff Presidential Excellence Award, Mrs. Alicia Besenyei and Mrs. Connie Shumate; Student Presidential Excellence Award, Mr. Blake Farmer, Ms. Chelsea Goins and Ms. Sarah Woody; and, Auxiliary Staff Presidential Excellence Award, Mrs. Anna Bell, Mrs. Melanie Farmer and Mrs. Florence Sargent.

The Concord University ConChords and the Concord University Band provided musical selections during the ceremony. A reception followed the program in the Alexander Fine Arts lobby.



Mr. David A. Barnette


Dr. Kendra Boggess


Recessional led by Dr. Timothy Mainland





Persons with disabilities should contact Nancy Ellison, 1-304-384-6086 or 1-800-344-6679 extension 6086

if special assistance is required for access to an event scheduled by the University on campus.