New Faculty Welcomed to Campus

For Immediate Release: 
Aug 15 2007

CONTACT: Anita Moody, Director, Public Relations/Marketing

New Faculty Welcomed to Campus

Athens, W.Va. – Interim Vice President and Academic Dean, Dr. Stephen Rowe, welcomed new and returning faculty to “the campus beautiful” for the start of the 2007-2008 school year at Concord University. The opening meeting for faculty was held in the Student Center Ballroom at 9 a.m.

Following his welcoming remarks, he introduced Concord University President, Dr. Jerry Beasley, who noted that, “We’ve had a very productive summer and I’d like to thank many of you who’ve worked very hard on our ‘first year experience’ program … and I am encouraged by the attention that our freshmen will receive this year. Moreover, I’m pleased that Dr. Rowe has agreed to take on the responsibility of interim academic dean.” Then, he encouraged faculty to “marshal evidence” of student learning to those who will be evaluating the institution in the upcoming North Central accreditation process.

Next, President of the Faculty, Dr. Hugh Campbell, noted that during his experience advising students, “Overwhelmingly both the students and parents loved the description of the upcoming ‘first year experience’ program that will be launched at Concord this year.” He also explained to his colleagues the process that the presidential search will be taking and stressed the importance of a successful search to Concord.

Associate Academic Dean, Dr. Jane Smith, talked about the status of the institution’s self study that will be submitted to North Central. She reminded the audience that the evaluation committee from North Central will be on campus in the spring.

In his concluding remarks, Dr. Rowe noted that there is a “net gain” of parking spaces on campus because of the completion of the Nick Rahall Technology Center and the demolition of the College Courts (units built during the 1950s to house married students).

Within Academics, the following were hired as new, full-time faculty and administrators for fall 2007 (as of August 9, 2007):

Dr. Alice M. Hawthorne Allen – non-tenure track Assistant Professor of Physics. B.S., Wake Forest University; M.S. and Ph.D., Indiana University. She taught adjunct for Concord and lives in Princeton.

Ms. Lisa M. Darlington – Assistant Professor of Mathematics. B.S., Concord University; M.S., Virginia Tech; Ph.D. (Expected 2008), Virginia Tech. She lives in Blacksburg, Virginia.

Dr. Fredrick Davidson – non-tenure track Associate Professor of Business. B.S., Texas A&M University; M.B.A. and Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh. He taught adjunct for Concord and lives in Talcott.

Dr. Annette Howells – non-tenure track Assistant Professor of Chemistry. B.A., University of Michigan; M.S., Eastern Michigan University; Ph.D., Case Western Reserve University. Dr. Howells is from Montgomery.

Ms. Tracy L. McCallister – non-tenure track Head Athletic Trainer/Assistant Professor of Athletic Training. B.S., Concord University; M.S., Indiana State University. She taught adjunct for Concord and lives in Bluefield.

Dr. Nicholas S. Miceli – Associate Professor of Business. B.S., Central Missouri State University; Ph.D., University of Oklahoma. Dr. Miceli is from Columbus, Ohio.

Ms. Lindsey A. Mullins – non-tenure track Instructor in Communication Arts. B.A., Concord University; M.A., Marshall University. She lives in Welch.

Dr. Terry W. Mullins – Associate Professor of Education. B.A., James Madison University; M.S., Radford University; Ed.D., Virginia Tech. Dr. Mullins lives in N. Tazewell, Virginia.

Ms. Joan M. Pendergast – Assistant Professor of Social Work. B.S.W., Mansfield University; M.S.W., Marywood University; Ph.D. (Expected 2007), University of South Carolina. She is from Irmo, South Carolina.

Ms. Santina S. St. John – Assistant Professor of Education. B.S., Concord University; M.A. Fayetteville State University; M.A., Ed.S., Marshall University Graduate College. She taught adjunct and temporary full-time for Concord and lives in Princeton.

Ms. Dorothy T. Strater (Started January 2007) – non-tenure track Instructor in Mathematics. B.S., Virginia Tech; M.A., University of Phoenix. She lives in Blacksburg, Virginia.

Mr. William P. Williams – Assistant Professor of Education. B.A., Oglethorpe University; M.S., Virginia Tech; Ph.D. (Expected 2007), Virginia Tech. He lives in Blacksburg, Virginia.

The following administrative position was filled within Academics:

Mr. Ronald J. Basini (Started January 2007) – Director of Entrepreneurial Studies/Associate Professor of Business. B.S. and M.B.A., Murray State University. He is from Haines Falls, New York.

Additional staff changes within Academics for fall 2007 (as of August 9, 2007) are as follows:


Dr. Ellen Darden, Professor of Social Work

Dr. Paul Kane, Professor of English

Dr. Martha Shrewsbury, Professor of English

Dr. Carol Manzione, Associate Professor of History


Mr. Fernando Porras, Art


Dr. Charles Brichford, Chair, Division of Language & Literature

Dr. Stephen Rowe, Interim Vice President & Academic Dean


Mr. James Biggs, Art

Ms. Jenni Canterbury, Communication Arts


Mr. Willis Hill, Physics

Dr. Dean Turner, Vice President & Academic Dean; Professor of Music

Dr. Paul Kane, English (December 2007)

Dr. Martha Shrewsbury, English (December 2007)


Ms. Jennifer L. Humphries, Instructional Designer/WebCT Administrator


Dr. Nancy Niles, Business

Dr. James Parker, Communication Arts

Mr. Jacob Ryan, Athletic Training

Dr. Joe Saunders, Chemistry


Dr. Ellen Darden, 2007-08


Dr. Eloise Elliott, West Virginia University


Ms. Cecilia Fizer, 2007-08

Those hired to fill staff positions from June 1, 2006, through July 30, 2007, include the following: Erin Clark, 8/1/2006, Accounting Assistant I; Ted Collins, 5/16/2007, Press Operator I; Zornitsa Georgieva, 8/17/2006, Program Coordinator; Christopher Gibson, 1/1/2007, Trades Specialist I; Nora High, 10/16/2006, Program Assistant I; Charles Lynch, 1/22/2007, Trades Specialist; Lezli Page, 6/25/2007, Administrative Secretary; John Thackston, 6/29/2007, Admissions Counselor; and Donald Ward, 5/1/2007, Landscape Worker.

Those who have retired from staff positions from June 1, 2006, through July 30, 2007, include the following: Nelda Krider, 11/1/2006, Program Assistant; Andrew Lilly, 9/1/2006, Trades Specialist; Jean Mann, 1/1/2007, Telephone Operator; Tina Pennington, 7/31/2006, Accounting Assistant I; David Perry Seal, 6/1/2007, Landscape Worker; Mike Wimmer, 4/1/2007, Press Operator I; and Patricia Wimmer, 7/1/2006, Program Coordinator.

Andrew Sulgit was rehired on 7/17/2006 as an Admissions Counselor, and the status of Dr. John David Smith was changed from faculty to Vice President of Student Affairs on 7/10/2006.


PHOTO: (front row, left to right) Ms. Lindsey Mullins, Dr. Alice Hawthorne Allen, Dr. Nicholas Miceli, Dr. Annette Howells; (middle row, left to right) Dr. Terry Mullins, Dr. Fredrick “Fred” Davidson; (back row, left to right) Ms. Lisa Darlington, Mr. William “Willy” Williams, Ms. Santina St. John, Dr. Joan Pendergast

CONCORD UNIVERSITY NOTES: Persons with disabilities should contact Nancy Ellison, 1-304-384-6086 or 1-800-344-6679, extension 6086 if special assistance or help is required for access to an event scheduled by the University on campus.