CU Announces New Faculty and Staff, Fall 2008

For Immediate Release: 
Oct 16 2008

CONTACT: Anita Moody, Director, Public Relations/Marketing

CU Announces New Faculty and Staff, Fall 2008

Athens, W.Va. – Dr. Stephen Rowe, interim vice president and academic dean, announces the following staff changes.

New, full-time faculty includes the following:

Dr. Dana M. Alloway – Assistant Professor of Chemistry, B.S., Seattle University, Ph.D., University of Arizona, from Tucson, Ariz.;

Dr. Charles P. Becker – Assistant Professor of Accounting, B.A., Virginia Military University, M.B.A, University of Virginia, D.B.A., Nova Southeastern University, from Glenville;

Dr. Joseph A. Beckett – Associate Professor of Athletic Training/Director of Athletic Training Program, B.A., Whittenberg University, M.S., Marshall University, Ph.D., West Virginia University, from Richmond, Ky.;

Mr. Kevin C. Bennington – Non-tenure track Instructor in Art, B.A., Concord University, taught adjunct for Concord, from Bluefield;

Dr. Linwood B. Clayton – Assistant Professor of Recreation Tourism Management, B.A., Virginia Tech; M.S., Radford University, Ph.D., Clemson University, from Ferrum, Va.;

Dr. Franz A. Frye – Assistant Professor of Chemistry/Physical Science, B.S., Hartwick College, Ph.D., University of Florida, from Franklin, N.Y.;

Dr. Charles C. Grindstaff – Assistant Professor of Education, B.S., East Tennessee State University, M.S., Radford University, Ed.D., Nova University, from Tazewell, Va.:

Dr. He-Boong Kwon – Associate Professor of Business, B.S., Republic of Korea Air Force Academy, M.S. and Ph.D., Florida Institute of Technology, from Shoreline, Wash.;

Dr. Amberyl M. Malkovich – Assistant Professor of English, B.S., University of Wisconsin-Superior, M.A., Minnesota State University-Mankato, Ph.D., Illinois State University-Normal, from Bloomington, Ill.;

Mr. Joshua T. Miller – Assistant Professor of Music; B.A., Marshall University, M.M., Ohio State University, from Columbus, Ohio;

Dr. Lauri L. Reidmiller – Assistant Professor of Art, B.F.A. and M.A., Miami University, Ph.D., Ohio State University; from Columbus, Ohio;

Dr. Gabriel A. Rieger – Assistant Professor of English, B.A. and M.A., University of Toledo, Ph.D., Case Western Reserve University, from Gettysburg, Pa.;

Ms. Laura E. Zamzow – Assistant Professor of Music, B.A., Luther College, M.M., University of Northern Colorado, D.A. (expected 12/08), University of Northern Colorado, from Greeley, Colo.

The following changes were made in the status of current faculty.

Those promoted in rank include: Dr. Joseph Allen to professor of geology; Dr. Roy Ramthun to professor of recreation tourism management and Dr. David Hill to associate professor of mathematics.

Those receiving tenure include: Dr. Thomas Gambill, associate professor of communication arts; Dr. Michelle Gompf, assistant professor of English; and Dr. Johnnie Linn, assistant professor of economics.

Those receiving new or additional assignments include: Dr. Roy Ramthun to serve as chair, division of social sciences; and Dr. Cheryl Trull to serve as director of graduate studies.

The status of Dr. Alice M. Hawthorne Allen, assistant professor of physics, was changed to tenure-track from temporary.

Those on sabbatical include: Mr. Fernando Porras for the 2008-09 academic year; and Dr. Elizabeth Roth, half time for the 2008-09 academic year.

Dr. Eloise Elliott was in receipt of a fellowship from West Virginia University.

The following earned their doctoral degrees: Dr. David Campbell, assistant professor of health and physical education; and Dr. Cory Williams, assistant professor of communication arts.

Those hired to fill staff positions from July 1, 2007, through June 30, 2008, include the following: Jimmy Owens, assistant director of plant maintenance, 6-1-08; Paul Lambert, application system analytical programmer, 5-16-08; Jamie Boggs, web developer, 10-16-07; Tabitha Pack, application system analytical programmer; 10-17-07; David Wiley, campus police officer, 3-1-08; Steven Wood, landscape worker, 5-16-08; Jamey Coulter, campus police officer, 3-1-08; Anna Mills Hardy, resident hall director, 3-1-08; Marshall Campbell, director of student union activities II, 7-9-07; Terry Rotenberry, promotion to manager, physical plant I, 1-17-08; and Jennie Mays, administrative secretary senior, 8-17-08.


PHOTO: (front row, left to right) Dr. Gregory Aloia, Dr. Lauri L. Reidmiller, Dr. Amberyl M. Malkovich, Ms. Laura E. Zamzow, Dr. Dana M. Alloway; (back row, left to right) Dr. Charles C. Grindstaff, Dr. Linwood B. Clayton, Dr. Franz A. Frye, Mr. Kevin Bennington, Dr. Charles P. Becker, Dr. Gabriel A. Rieger, Dr. He-Bong Kwon