Phi Alpha Inducts 12 Students

For Immediate Release: 
May 10 2009

Phi Alpha Inducts 12 Students

CONTACT: Anita Moody, Director, Public Relations/Marketing


Athens, W.Va. –Twelve students majoring in social work were inducted into Concord’s Kappa Omicron Chapter of the Phi Alpha National Honors Society on May 7 in the State Room of the Jerry L. Beasley Student Center.

Students inducted included: Dena Almond from Cool Ridge, Kaitlyn Begg from Valley Head, Sarah Begg from Valley Head, Charles Chandler from Daniels, Rebecca Gouty from South Charleston, Samantha Grimmett from Wayside, Krystina Kowalewski from Athens, Michelle Lusk from Rock, James Maloyed from Athens, Justin Robertson from Beckley, Johanna Smith from Princeton, and Sarah Smith from Brenton.

Officers chosen included Sarah Begg as president, Kaitlyn Begg as vice president, Michelle Lusk as secretary, and Rebecca Gouty as treasurer.

The Kappa Omicron Chapter of Phi Alpha was created in 2001 and still remains the only chapter in West Virginia. Approximately 10 to 12 students are inducted every year. In order to get into the honors society, students must have a 3.0 GPA overall and a 3.25 in classes in the social work discipline.

Ellen C. Darden, professor of social work, is advisor for the group.


CONCORD UNIVERSITY NOTES: Andrea Meador, a sophomore majoring in public relations wrote this news release. Her hometown is Ghent.