Concord Hosts 48th Annual Honors Banquet

For Immediate Release: 
May 19 2009

CONTACT: Anita Moody, Director, Public Relations/Marketing

Concord Hosts 48th Annual Honors Banquet

Athens, W.Va. –The Cardinal Key and Blue Key Honor Societies of Concord University hosted its forty-eighth annual Honors Banquet, Thursday May 7 at 6:30 p.m. in the Jerry Beasley Student Center Ballroom.

Invited guests included those graduating with honors and receiving special honors in their field as well as Concord University President, Dr. Gregory Aloia, and his wife, Mary Aloia; interim Vice President and Academic Dean, Dr. Stephen Rowe, and his wife, Ms. Sharon Rowe; Mary Edna Becket; and President Emeriti, Dr. Joseph F. Marsh. Joseph Marsh along with Mary Edna Beckett started the honors banquet in 1961.

Blue Key President, Bradley Garner, from Chesapeake, Va., served as emcee for the event.

Dr. Stephen Rowe recognized and presented three valedictorians with plaques. The valedictorians were Kelly Marie Ratliff from Princeton, Chloe Adelle Alderman, from Oak Hill and Amanda Leslie Morley from Saluda, N.C.

Others recognized included the following:

Lucy Sneed DeNuzzo Award for Academic Excellence: Presented to Anne Elizabeth Harman from Bluefield by Dr. Stephen Rowe

OUTSTANDING BUSINESS STUDENT OF THE YEAR: Presented to Thayne Carper from Spencer by Mr. John Fazio

SCHOLARLY DISTINCTIONS IN BUSINESS-ACCOUNTING: Presented to Joseph Lannom from Hampton, Va., by Mr. John Fazio

SCHOLARLY DISTINCTIONS IN BUSINESS-ADMINISTRATIVE SYSTEMS: Presented to Elizabeth Thompson from Stevensville, Md., by Mr. John Fazio

SCHOLARLY DISTINCTIONS IN BUSINESS-FINANCE: Presented to Miranda Martin from Glen Jean by Mr. John Fazio

SCHOLARLY DISTINCTIONS IN BUSINESS-MANAGEMENT: Presented to Melissa Caldwell from Lynburn by Mr. John Fazio

OUTSTANDING TEACHER EDUCATION MAJOR: Presented to Juliana Patton from Beckley by Dr. Kathryn Liptak

OUTSTANDING PYSICAL EDUCATION AND HEALTH MAJOR: Presented to Mathew Kuntz from Sewickley, Penn., by Dr. Angelique Edwards

OUTSTANDING ATHLETIC TRAINING MAJOR: Presented to Sarah Coelho from Catlett, Va., by Dr. Joseph Beckett

THE CONCORD UNIVERSITY CHORAL SERVICE AWARD: Presented to Ashleigh Glass from New Cumberland and Timothy Fama from Beckley by Mr. Joshua T. Miller

DAVID S. ROTH MEMORIAL OUTSTANDING ENGLISH MAJOR AWARD: Presented to Martha Holt from Sandstone and Brittany Rothausen from Bluefield by Dr. Elizabeth Roth

JAMES B. SHREWSBURY JR. AWARD FOR ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE: Presented to Brittany Rothausen from Bluefield by Dr. Charles Brichford

HAWEY A. WELLS SR. BIOLOGY AWARD: Presented to Jade Palazzola from Morristown, Tenn., by Dr. Darla Wise

JERRY L. BLATT SCHOLARSHIP AWARD: Presented to Brandon Lilly from Cool Ridge by Dr. Darla Wise

A.H. MONTGOMERY CHEMISTRY AWARD: Presented to Anne E. Harmon from Bluefield by Dr. Darrell Crick

BRUCE COVEY MATHEMATICS PRIZE: Presented to Miranda Martin from Glen Jean by Dr. Daniel Krider

OUTSTANDING GRADUATE IN GEOGRAPHY AWARD: Presented to William Daniels from Lynco by Mr. Jan Westerik

DAVID S. ROTH MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP: Presented to Kristen Perry from Ravenswood by Dr. Jonathan Berkey

OUTSTANDING HISTORY STUDENT OF THE YEAR: Presented to Matthew Browning from Princeton by Dr. Jonathan Berkey

THE PHILOSOPHY ESSAY PRIZE: Presented to Sarah Elizabeth Odle from Montcalm by Dr. Thomas McKenna

OUTSTANDING PSYCHOLOGY STUDENT OF THE YEAR: Presented to Faithen Burkhammer from Parkersburg by Dr. Karen Griffee

OUTSTANDING SOCIOLOGY GRADUATE AWARD: Presented to Jerry Fowler from Athens by Dr. Tracy Luff

OUTSTANDING SOCIAL WORK GRADUATE FOR 2008-2009: Presented to Nola Gum from Hacker Valley by Dr. Joan Pendergast

OUTSTANDING STUDENT IN LEGAL STUDIES/PRELAW: Presented to Jerry Fowler from Athens by Dr. Darla Wise

OUTSTANDING STUDENT IN PHI ALPHA DELTA: Presented to Bradley Garner from Chesapeake, Va., by Dr. Darla Wise.

WVIAC ACADEMIC ATHLETES: Presented to Amanda Blankenship from Mt. Hope and Tim Merolillo from Pittsburgh, Penn., by Carol Bonnes

MCNAIR PROGRAM ABOVE AND BEYOND AWARD: Presented to Katie Hendrickson from Crab Orchard by Dr. Rodney Klein

HONORS PROGRAM GRADUATE RECOGNITION: Presented to Christina Cabell from Whitesville and Mika Pierson from Maysel by Dr. Stephen Rowe


NOTE TO EDITORS: Photos of the awarded students are attached at the end of this page.

Please use your Internet browser to access the file. If you have a MAC, select the file then CLICK and HOLD your mouse button and choose “download link to disk.” If you have a PC, right click and select “save target as. . . .”

Andrea Meador, a sophomore majoring in public relations wrote this news release. Her hometown is Ghent.