Richlands High School Overall Winner In 21st Annual Concord Business Challenge

For Immediate Release: 
Nov 19 2014

CONTACT:  Sarah Dalton

Concord University

Office of Advancement

PO Box 1000, Athens, WV 24712

(304) 384-6312,         


**(Teachers and counselors are listed after the school name in parentheses.)
ATHENS, W.Va. – The Concord University Division of Business hosted the 21st Annual Concord Business Challenge (CBC) on Thursday, Oct. 23, 2014. Seventeen West Virginia and Virginia high schools participated with 338 students competing for scholarships and other awards.

Dr. Susan Robinett, division chairperson, announced the winners. Overall winners are: Richlands High School, first place; Greenbrier East High School, second place; and, Fayette Institute of Technology, third place.

Isaiah Godfrey from Greenbrier East High School and Evan Meadows from Richlands High School won scholarships to Concord University.

“The purpose of the CBC is to encourage students to excel in business subjects while in high school, better preparing them for the real world and for higher education challenges,” Dr. Robinett said. “Those who place in our contests leave here with another distinction that can be added to their resumes and this helps to build confidence. We also enjoy seeing the pride on the faces of our academic achievement contest winners when they see how well they have done on our exams. The schools producing the best results are awarded the title of first, second or third place winners of the CBC and this helps the schools to demonstrate their programs’ excellence in the state,” she said.

Individual winners listed by school are:

ACADEMY OF CAREERS AND TECHNOLOGY – Beckley, W.Va. (Neil Byrge, Carol Meadows, Cathy Moore): Caitlynn Clark, second place, CBC logo and slogan; Mia Dodson, third place, CBC logo and slogan; Ashley Lockhart, third place, keyboarding;
BLAND COUNTY – Bland, Va. (Shellie Hartley, Charity Nester): Aaron Rose, third place, current business events;
BLUEFIELD – Bluefield, W.Va. (Glenda Lawson): Nathaniel Pugh, third place, marketing principles;
FAYETTE INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY – Oak Hill, W.Va. (Cindy Harford, Stephanie Woodson): Jordynn Johns, first place, creative marketing; Hannah Toney, first place, CBC logo and slogan, and second place, keyboarding; Samantha Browning, second place, management and entrepreneurship principles; Hannah Chaffins, second place, creative marketing;
GILES – Pearisburg, Va. (Lindsay Moody, Tabitha Young): Breanna Wilson, third place, Microsoft Office concepts; 
GRAHAM – Bluefield, Va. (Michelle Brown, Jennifer McGinnis): Kyle Wolford, second place, business computer literacy and second place, business mathematics; Ashley Rasnake, third place, business finance;
GREENBRIER EAST – Lewisburg, W.Va. (Kristi Haddox, Tiffany McMahan, Dalen Whitt): Julian Kincaid, first place, business finance; Lindsey Ray, first place, Microsoft Office concepts; Marsha Carpenter, second place, marketing principles; Dylan Cole, second place, Microsoft Office concepts, and third place, business computer literacy; Sarah Feamster, third place, business law; Daisy Lively, third place, creative marketing; Joey Schrettner, third place, economics; 
MONROE COUNTY TECH CENTER – Lindside, W.Va. (Malony McPherson): Kameran Hall, first place, business computer literacy; Rebecca Sparks, first place, accounting; Rebecca Ratliff, second place, business finance; Leah Estep, third place, accounting;
NARROWS – Narrows, Va. (Gayle Kirby): Courtland Caldwell, first place, management and entrepreneurship principles; 
PIKEVIEW – Princeton, W.Va. (Rick Poff): William Billings, first place, marketing principles; Seth Green, second place, accounting;
PRINCETON SENIOR – Princeton, W.Va. (Colleen Nunnery): Jacob Austin, first place, business law; Hunter Keaton, first place, business mathematics; Kevin Compton, second place, current business events;  
RICHLANDS – Richlands, Va. (Willie Hunt, Ronnie Sparks): Trent Davis, first place, economics; Jackson Smith, first place, current business events; Hannah Stansfield, first place, keyboarding; Dakota Honaker, second place, business law; Mark Sahyouni, second place, economics; Lauren McGlothlin, third place, management and entrepreneurship principles; Evan Meadows, third place, business mathematics;  
Also participating were:
GREENBRIER WEST – Charmco, W.Va. (Norma Cole):
LIBERTY – Glen Daniel, W.Va. (Ramona Hartshorn):
SHADY SPRING – Shady Spring, W.Va. (Candace Crouse):
TAZEWELL – Tazewell, Va. (Mary Mullins):
WOODROW WILSON – Beckley (Cynthia Cassidy, Kathryn Mace, Laura Mills)

Dr. Kendra Boggess, Concord University president, welcomed participants to the competition. Division of Business faculty and staff participating in the CBC, along with Dr. Robinett, were: Mrs. Bonnie Brown, event coordinator and academic program associate; Dr. Muhammad Islam, professor of finance; Dr. Cindi Khanlarian, associate professor of accounting; Dr. Johnnie Linn, III, assistant professor of economics; Dr. Charlotte Davis, assistant professor of management; Mr. Tom Shelton, instructor of accounting; Dr. Mohan Pokharel, Shott Distinguished Chair of Innovation and Entrepreneurship and assistant professor of management, and, Don Rieley, adjunct.

Ms. Jacqueline L. Nottingham, Concord University’s chief enrollment management officer, presented “All about Concord University” during the teachers and counselors seminar. Dr. Pokharel presented “Entrepreneurship Initiative at Concord University and in West Virginia.”

Twenty-two Concord University business students also assisted during the competition.


Four photos attached below


Richlands High School – First Place




Greenbrier East High School – Second Place

Fayette Institute of Technology - Third Place



Evan Meadows, left, from Richlands High School and Isaiah Godfrey, right,
from Greenbrier East High School won scholarships to Concord University.