Forty-Second Annual Honors Banquet Held at Concord

For Immediate Release: 
Apr 24 2003

Forty-Second Annual Honors Banquet Held at Concord

Note to Editor: All hometowns are West Virginia unless noted otherwise.

Athens, W.Va. - The Cardinal Key and Blue Key Honor Societies of Concord College hosted the forty-second Annual Honors Banquet, Thursday, April 24, 6:30 p.m. in the State Room of the College Center. Pamela LeeAnn Fink, from Princeton, West Virginia, and president of Cardinal Key, served as emcee for the event.

Students received honors for excelling in their field of study and for high academic performance. Summa cum laude represents a GPA (grade point average) of 3.80 or higher, magna cum laude represents 3.60-3.79, and cum laude represents a GPA between 3.30-3.59.

Field of study awards included:

Alpha Chi Region V Graduate Fellowship, 1st Runner Up-Angela D. Ramsey, Forest Hill

Alpha Chi Region V Undergraduate Scholarship-Brandy Bagar, Bluefield

Bonner Scholars Academic Achievement Award-Leah Hicks, Lindside

Bruce Covey Mathematics Prize-Vikash Gupta, India

Business Education Student of the Year-Kimberly Rotenberry, Bluefield

Communication Arts Award-Jamie Hypes, Bluefield; Kahlil Joseph, India

Concord College Alumni Association Valedictorian Award-Spaska Dvoiatchka, Bulgaria; Prerna Khemka, India; Jamie Hypes, Bluefield

David S. Roth Memorial Award-Debra M. Pugh, Union

David S. Roth Memorial Scholarship-Maryanne P. Tuck, Rainelle

DeNuzzo Award for Academic Excellence-Melissa Godfrey, Princeton

Graphic Design/Advertising Award-Promise Sloan, Lashmeet

Hawey A. Wells, Sr. Biology Award-Philip Galapon, Shady Spring

History-Philosophy Academic Achievement Award-Jason Fraley, New Haven

Honor’s Program Graduate Recognition-Amy Cocheran, Bim; Bradley Lane, Itmann; Eric McClanahan, Wharton: Wesley McLeod, Jamacia; Adam Miller, Lerona; Jone Swanson, New Market, MD; Jennifer Trimble, Athens; Matthew Walker, Huntington

Honors Graduates-May 2003, Tammy Acord, Beckley; Julie Bays, Beckley; Gloria Beverage, Maxwelton; Tiffany Blair, Lewisburg; Amy Cocheran, Bim; Leah Connelly, East Bank; Cinda Coulter, Lindside; David Cowan, Bluefield; Gayle Dunn, Princeton; Spaska Dvoiatchka, Bulgaria; Kristen Dye, Bancroft; Pamela LeeAnn Fink, Princeton; Lelia Fry, Princeton; Philip Galapon, Shady Spring; David Sherwood, Monrovia, MD; Melissa Godfrey, Rock; Bryan Grose, Lansing; Vikash Gupta, India; David Hughes Jr, Hurricane; Jamie Hypes, Bluefield; Miranda Jones, Bluefield; Kahlil Joseph, India; Prerna Khemka, India; Eric McClanahan, Wharton; Julie Midkiff, Beckley; William Miller, Hinton; Angela Ramsey, Forest Hill; Nancy Sloan, Alderson; Kimberly Williams, Athens; Mark Wilson, Shoals

J. Arthur Butcher (Art) Award-Julie Midkiff, Beckley

James B. Shrewsbury, Jr. Award for Academic Excellence-Miranda Jones, Princeton

Jerry L. Blatt Scholarship Award-Eric McClanahan, Wharton

Outstanding Business Student of the Year-Angela Ramsey, Forest Hill

2002 Outstanding Education Major Award-Tammy Acord, Beckley

Outstanding Graduate in Geography Award-Jamie Wykle, Frankford

Outstanding Health and Physical Education Major of the Year-William Miller, Hinton

Outstanding Pre-law Student of the Year-Pamela LeeAnn Fink, Princeton

Outstanding Psychology Major Award-Spaska Dvoiatchhka, Bulgaria

Outstanding Social Work Senior-Jennifer Justice, Summersville

Studio Art/Crafts Award-Julie Bays, Beckley


Presenters representing different departments and divisions on campus included: Ms. Kathy Ball, Dr. Rodney Blackman, Dr. Kendra Boggess, Dr. Ron Burgher, Dr. Sheila Chipley, Dr. Angelique Edwards, Dr. Rodney Klein, Dr. Daniel Krider, Dr. Kathy Liptak, Dr. Carol Manzione, Dr. Bill Ofsa, Mr. Fernando Porras, Dr. Elizabeth Roth, Dr. Stephen Rowe, Dr. Beryle Santon, Dr. Elizabeth Schiltz, Mr. Jack Sheffler, Dr. John David Smith, Dr. Dean Turner, Mr. Jan Westerik, and Dr. Darla Wise.

Academic sponsors for the honor societies are Ms. Mary Edna Beckett, Ms. Cecilia Fizer, and Dr. David K. Baxter. Ms. Beckett and Dr. Joseph Marsh, president, emeritus, organized the first honors banquet in 1961. Marsh was a special guest at this year’s banquet.

President Jerry Beasley welcomed Ms. Beckett back to the campus after a long recovery from an auto accident, and then told the honorees, “You honor our professors best with the good work you do.”

For information on attending Concord call 1-888-384-5249 or 1-304-384-5248 or e-mail