Concord College Board of Governors to Meet Wednesday, June 2

For Immediate Release: 
May 23 2004

Concord College Board of Governors to Meet Wednesday, June 2

Athens, W.Va. - Concord College President Jerry Beasley announces that the Board of Governors will meet on Wednesday, June 2.

The schedule is as follows: 9 a.m., Committee on Finance and Facilities, the Concord Room (Marsh Hall) and the Committee on External Affairs, the Bolton Room (Marsh Hall); ll a.m., meeting with Classified Personnel, the Concord Room (Marsh Hall); 12:30 p.m., lunch (by invitation), the State Room (College Center); and 1:30 p.m., full Board meeting, the Concord Room (Marsh Hall).

For more information contact Ms. Nancy Meade, assistant to the president, 1-304-384-5224 or


CONCORD COLLEGE NOTES: Persons with disabilities should contact Rick Dillon, 1-304-384-5231 if special assistance or help is required for access to an event scheduled by the College on campus.

In general, the intent of Senate Bill 653 and 703 is to diversify and expand the economy of the state, increase the competitiveness of the state’s workforce and the availability of professional expertise by increasing the number of college degrees produced to the level of the national average and significantly improve the level of adult functional literacy.

Effective July 1, 2001, an institutional board of governors was established as required by SB 653 and 703. The board of governors powers and duties generally include: determining controlling supervisions and managing the financial, business and education policies and affairs of Concord, developing a master plan, demonstrating how the master plan will be used, developing goals and missions, and other items as directed by the legislation.

The board of governors is comprised of 12 people including: nine members appointed by the governor, a full-time member of the faculty, a member of the student body and a member of Concord’s classified employees.

Members of Concord’s governing board are: Dr. Deborah Akers, Princeton, W.Va.; James M. Brown, Beckley, W.Va.; Daniel C. Dunmyer, Princeton, W.Va.; Eugene V. Fife, Charlottesville, Va.; J. Franklin Long, Bluefield, W.Va.; Wayne Meisel, Princeton, N.J.; James L. Miller, board secretary, Princeton, W.Va.; R. T. “Ted” Rogers, Hinton, W.Va.; and Margaret Sayre, board chair, Beckley, W.Va. Other members include student representative Peter Fichthorn, faculty representative Charles H. Brichford, and classified staff representative Linda Martin.

Minutes and information about board meetings may be accessed on the College’s web site, log on to, click on “Administration” then “Board of Governors.”