Save The Date: Aep Chairman, President & Ceo To Speak at the Charleston Fund for Concord University Dinner, Tuesday, October 10, 2006

For Immediate Release: 
Jul 09 2006

Save The Date: Aep Chairman, President & Ceo To Speak at the Charleston Fund for Concord University Dinner, Tuesday, October 10, 2006

Athens, W.Va. – The 2006 Charleston Fund for Concord University dinner is scheduled for the evening of Tuesday, October 10 at Embassy Suites in Charleston, W.Va. This is the Concord University Foundation’s annual fundraiser in the Kanawha Valley and the proceeds will be used to enhance academic programs, and enrich faculty and staff development.

Mr. Michael G. Morris, chairman, president and chief executive officer of American Electric Power Company, Inc. has agreed to serve as the keynote speaker for this year’s dinner. David Kirby, who serves as chair of the planning committee, said, “We are very pleased that Mr. Morris will serve as our keynote speaker this year. His willingness to address those gathered for our Charleston dinner perpetuates the Foundation’s ‘Captains of Industry’ theme, whereby we continue to present quality speakers at this important annual event.”

Since joining AEP in January 2004, Mr. Morris has led AEP’s efforts to build an integrated gasification combined cycle (IGCC) plant—the first commercial-scale use of the technology for power generation and the largest IGCC plant announced to date—and to invest at least $3.7 billion to improve the environmental performance of AEP generating plants by 2010; to create seven regional operating companies; to integrate AEP’s eastern transmission grid into the PJM Interconnection; and to begin construction on the Wyoming-Jacksons Ferry 765 kV line in West Virginia and Virginia.

He was chairman, president and CEO of Northeast Utilities System from 1997 to 2003, where he led the company during its $1.3 billion sale of the Millstone Station nuclear plant in 2001, a $679 million merger with Yankee Energy System Inc., and the acquisition of Connecticut Valley Electric Co. He was also heavily involved in the formation of ISO-New England, as well as restructuring and retail customer choice in the New England states.

Morris, chairman of the Edison Electric Institute, also serves on the U.S. Department of Energy’s Electricity Advisory Board, the National Governors Association’s Task Force on Electricity Infrastructure, the Institute of Nuclear Power Operations, Business Roundtable, and the Columbus Downtown Development Corporation. Additionally, Mr. Morris serves as a director of the Nuclear Electric Insurance Limited, Cincinnati Bell, and The Hartford Financial Services Group, Inc. He is past chairman of the board of the Connecticut Business & Industry Association.

Michael Morris was born in Fremont, Ohio, and graduated from Eastern Michigan University with both bachelor’s and master’s degrees in science. He was appointed to the Board of Regents at Eastern Michigan University in 1997. In 1995, he received the university’s Distinguished Alumnus Award. While an undergraduate, Morris served as president of the Delta Sigma Phi Fraternity. During his graduate years, he was commander of the ROTC Brigade. After he graduated in 1973, he worked in the environmental department of Commonwealth Associates, where he prepared environmental impact statements for electrical utility transmission lines, natural gas and oil pipelines and power plants.

Morris received a law degree, cum laude, from the Detroit College of Law and is a member of the Michigan Bar Association. He is a past member of the Board of the Detroit College of Law.

This is the eighth annual dinner to be held in Charleston, and the event continues to grow. The evening begins with a general reception at 6 p.m. in the area outside of the Grand Ballroom with dinner to follow at 7 p.m. Tickets are $125 for individuals; tables for up to 10 persons are available for $10,000, $5,000, $2,500 and $1,250.

Planning committee members include: Committee Chair David Kirby and members David Barnette, Sandi Davison, Lou Ann Johnson, William H. “Bill” McKee, Jr., Betty Jo Moore, Sharon Murphy, Andre Nabors, Daniel Palausky, Forrest Roles, Sue Sergi and Loretta A. Young.

For more information, contact David Kirby at 1-304-340-2949 or Loretta Young, 1-304-384-5257 or


PHOTO: Mr. Michael Morris, chairman, president and CEO of American Electric Power