Sarah M. Pritchett
Concord University
Office of Advancement
PO Box 1000, Athens, WV 24712
(304) 384-6312,

After 4 p.m.
Office: 304-384-5211
Cell: 304-320-6405

May 13, 2022


ATHENS, W.Va. –  Concord University’s 61st Annual Honors Banquet was held the evening of Friday, April 15, 2022 in the Ballroom of the Jean & Jerry L. Beasley Student Center.  Cardinal Key and Blue Key Honor societies hosted the event, which is sponsored by the University to honor students who have demonstrated academic excellence.

In addition to awards presented by departments and disciplines, honor societies recognized their graduating seniors at the banquet. Students graduating with University Honors were also acknowledged.

The late Professor Emerita Mary Edna Beckett and President Emeritus Joseph Marsh, Jr. organized the first Honors Banquet in 1961. Now in its sixty-first year, the tradition has continued as a way to celebrate the outstanding academic achievements of Concord University students. Since its inception, Cardinal Key and Blue Key Honor societies have cosponsored the annual event. Though many things have changed over the years, the one thing that has not changed is the pride that the faculty and staff at Concord University have in the accomplishments of students.

“We were excited to hold a physical Honors Banquet this year; we enjoyed celebrating our students’ achievements,” stated Dr. Lisa Darlington, Department Chair of Mathematics.

Dr. Darlington is the advisor for Cardinal Key and Mr. Shawn Allen, Assistant Professor of Social Work, is the advisor for Blue Key.

Descriptions of awards can be found at: Please note that not all awards are presented every year.

The honorees for 2022 include: Lucy DeNuzzo Award for Academic Excellence – Colton Lively; Concord University Alumni Association Valedictorian Award, Spring 2022 – Katherine Michelle Helmick, Chloe Martin King, Marisa S. Montgomery, and Colton Elliott Lively; Concord University Alumni Association Valedictorian Award, Fall 2021 – Christopher Adam Billings; McNair Above and Beyond Award – Briana Parsons and Alysia Inosencio;

Outstanding History Student – James B. Shrewsbury Jr. Award for Academic Excellence – Marissa Montgomery; David S. Roth Memorial Outstanding English Major Award – Hannah Stauffer; Graduates of Sigma Tau Delta – Abigail Stimson, Abigail Cooper, Marisa Montgomery, Hannah Stauffer and Dylan Pauley; Outstanding Teacher Education Majors – Elementary Education – Steven Brown, Secondary Education – Caitlin Stump, and MAT – Mathew Harvey; Ron Burgher Communications Student of the Year – Jared Sandy and Logan Bennett; Outstanding Psychology Student of the Year – Alysia Inosencio and Cameron Cook;

Graduates of Psi Chi – Amanda Banfield; Graduates of Pi Sigma Alpha – Noah Holland Clark and Jake Hamilton; Outstanding Sociology Graduate of the Year – Robert Rakes and Laura Thompson; Graduates of Concord University Honors Program – Colton Lively, Kaylin Shelton, Logan Ward, Andrew (A.J.) Wilson; Grace Watson and Hollie Naggy;

Outstanding Athletic Training Major – Hunter Bailey; Athletic Training Program Director’s Award – Outstanding Clinical Athletic Training Student – Sydney Philpott; Outstanding Computing Major – Bayleigh Meadows and Melinda Goda; Business Student of the Year – Katherine Helmick; Shott Entrepreneurial Student of the Year – Issac Prather and Britt Williams; Business Scholars (by Area of Emphasis) – Accounting – Hannah Altizer, Finance -Andrew Neff, Marketing – Maggie Guynn, Management – Keith Reed, and Sport Management – Alex Watty;

Graduates of ALEF – Micah Bates, Cameron Cook, Hannah Justice, Hollie Nagy and Austin Taylor; Hawey A. Wells, Sr. Outstanding Student in Biology Award – Jonathan Bennett; Graduates of Sigma Zeta – Briana Parsons, Daniel Baldwin, Micah Bates, Shannon Joins, Jonathan Bennett and Kaylin Shelton; Graduates of Cardinal Key – Bayleigh Meadows, Caitlin Stump, Hunter Bailey, Brianna Parsons and Sydney Philpott; Graduates of Blue Key – Daniel Baldwin, Micah Bates, Jonathan “Tucker” Bennett, Hunter Mitchelson and Colton Lively; Outstanding Student in Legal Studies and Pre-Law – Hannah Cooke; Outstanding Social Work Graduate –  Madeline Hawkins; Graduates of Phi Alpha – Madison Berg and Madyson Kennedy; Graduates of Alpha Psi Omega – Corey Lucas, Melinda Goda and Skyler McAllister; and, Graduates of Delta Mu Delta – Katherine Helmick, Emily Peck, Aubrie Peyton, Keith Reed and
Zachary Roney.

Graduates with University Honors

FALL 2021 SPRING 2022
Summa Cum Laude
Bre Faith Bailey
Morgan Renee Ballard
Christopher Adam Billings
Steven Chase Brown
Zoe Alana Colley
Remington Trevor Scott Darago
Benjamin David Dheel
Kameron Jeffary Doughty
Kristen Michelle Wade
Alysia Annabel Inosencio
Nathan Kyle NicholsMagna Cum Laude
Gavin Alexander Lee Brandenburg
Josie Ryann Brewer
Melanie A Burnette
Noah Holland Clark
Kayleigh D. Humphreys
Rachel Marie Jarvis
Roland Hurst Jaworski
Tucker Clay Lilly
Moe Sodeno
Grace Isabella Watson
Peyton Rachelle Wiseman
Katelyn Lucille Gration

Cum Laude
Taraea Ariell Anthony
Andrea Nicole Blankenship
Abigail Grace Cooper
Ashley  Cooper
Allana Jeane Dickens
Harper Joseph Emch
Blake Angela Fillinger
Hailie A. Gorsuch
Hannah Kinsey
Sydney Paige Lawson
Kyla A Marshall
Tyler Wade Miller
Grant Harrison Mohler
Cartney Ann Schoolcraft
Yohna Rashida Telemacque
Colin Patrick Terry
Amanda Renee Williams
Brittany Worley
Crystal Gale Zornes

Honors in Major Field
Savannah Faye Short

Summa Cum Laude
Hannah Altizer
Amanda Banfield
Joseph D Barton
Breanne N Fields
Leah Beth Foster
Aaliyah Sue Morgan Gerwig
Matthew Colin Harvey
Madeline Kate Hawkins
Charles Hawley
Katherine Michelle Helmick
Colton Elliott Lively
Chloe Martin King
Skyler Nekole McCallister
Megan LouAnn McGraw
Bayleigh Anne Meadows
Marisa S Montgomery
Yasmin Neve Mosby
Robert M Rakes II
Kaylin Shelton
Karlee Jean Forren
Hannah Grace Stauffer
Abigail E Stimson
Abigail E Stimson
Laura Sun Thompson
Laura Sun Thompson
Tsega Tsewameskel
Zachary Evan White
Kameron WhittakerMagna Cum Laude
Hunter Bailey
Tucker Bennett
Tucker Bennett
Madison Aliece Berg
Victoria Ann Cobb
Cameron Cook
Erin Carene Duffy
Meredith Kay Gwinn
Jacob M Hamilton
Tori Hanes
Payton Alexis Hurd
Rachel Marie Jarvis
Shannon Joins
Brandon Kennedy
Madison Belle Maynard
Keith R Reed
Robert Lee Snidow
Caitlin Stump
Grace I Watson

Cum Laude
Joseph Ian Addison
Kyra Skye Arrington
Daniel C Baldwin
Micah Elliott Bates
Abigail Billings
Kiera Conner
Katherine Elizabeth Curran
Courtney L Edwards
Katherine Franklin
Delissa Jo Marie Haynes
Holly Hutchens
Tara M James
Samantha B Juba
Madyson Faith Kennedy
Haley Lawrence
Kelsey Cheyenne Loomis
Corey L Lucas
Leah Mattinson Marsh
Emily Grace Meyers
Hollie Nagy
Emily Hannah Peck
Aubrie Shyann Peyton
Sydney L Philpott
Issac Prather
Gavin Jackson Pruett
Jocelyn Paige Scott
Kiersten Nichelle Thomason
Deena Renae Weatherbee
AJ Wison

Honors in Major Field
Elizabeth Carey
Lisa Gail Coburn
Logan Marie Ward
Kelli Elizaveta Ellison
Brittany A Long
Kaelea D Smith
Logan Marie Bare
Logan Marie Ward

Please note that the state of the COVID-19 pandemic and Concord’s adherence to CDC guidelines
 could impact how and if events are held. For the most up-to-date information, always check

Masking will be optional in all Concord University facilities as long as Mercer County remains in the Green or Yellow on the CDC’s COVID-19 community level map, and the on-campus cases remain low in number.
This reflects the latest guidance by the CDC.

We appreciate your compliance as we do our best to keep students, employees and visitors to campus safe.

Persons with disabilities should contact Nancy Ellison, 1-304-384-6086 or 1-800-344-6679 extension 6086, if special assistance is required for access to an event scheduled by the University on campus.